EC-Council Attains the Prestigious ANSI/ISO/IEC 17024 Accreditation for the Certified Network Defender Program

Summary: EC-Council’s Certified Network Defender (CND) certification program is the latest to receive the prestigious American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Personnel Certification Accreditation. This is the fourth EC-Council certification to attain the gold standard of personnel credentialing. This affirms that the Certified Network Defender (CND) certification process is conducted in a consistent, comparable, and reliable manner, meeting all the disciplinary requirements set by ANSI.

Albuquerque, NM, April 20, 2018: EC-Council announces that it has been once again accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), this time to meet the ANSI/ISO/IEC 17024 Personnel Certification Accreditation standard for its Certified Network Defender (CND) certification program. In order to award the accreditation, ANSI conducted a verification process to ensure that EC-Council is impartial and objective as a certification body. It also recognizes that EC-Council’s certification process is conducted in a consistent, comparable, and reliable manner. This process required rigorous quality reviews of EC-Council and the Certified Network Defender (CND) certification program.

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private, non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. ANSI is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). ANSI is also a member of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).

“Achieving ANSI for our CND program reinforces EC-Council’s commitment to quality and our determination to create world class network defenders to combat growing cyber threats against institutions” says Jay Bavisi, CEO of the EC-Council Group.

The skills taught in the program such as switching and routing, storage area networking, and switches and firewall installation give network administrators an advantage out in the field.

Hacks like malware attacks, DoS attacks, and sniffer attacks steal data using websites, email, and malicious files and dynamically adapt to exploit zero-day and other network vulnerabilities. Once they have penetrated a network, hackers spend an average of 146 days within a network before being detected [1] — a fact that emphasizes the importance of proper network defense.  In fact, CIO by IDG places Network and Information Security at No.5 on their list of job skills in demand.[2]

“Cyber Security is commonly the first thing in the minds of CIOs but is, in many cases, an afterthought for the IT department” says Jay Bavisi.

The Certified Network Defender (CND) certification program focuses on operations and processes rather than technology to create network administrators who are trained to protect, detect, and respond to threats on the network. Through this program, professionals learn network defense fundamentals, the application of network security controls, protocols, perimeter appliances, secure IDS, VPN and firewall configuration, as well as the intricacies of network traffic signatures and vulnerability scanning to help design greater network security policies and successful incident response plans.

By attaining the prestigious ANSI certification, the CND certification now holds an added value to all prospective and existing CND credential members, adding trust, value, and credibility to their certification.

The CND program joins EC-Council’s Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH), Certified Chief Information Security Officer (CCISO), and the Computer Hacking Forensics Investigator (CHFI) program as ANSI accredited.

About EC-Council

EC-Council has been the world’s leading information-security certification body since the launch of their flagship program, Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH), which created the ethical hacking industry in 2002. Since the launch of CEH, EC-Council has added industry-leading programs to their portfolio to cover all aspects of information security including EC-Council Certified Security Analyst (ECSA), Computer Hacking Forensics Investigator (CHFI), Certified Chief Information Security Officer (CCISO), among others. EC-Council Foundation, the non-profit branch of EC-Council, created Global CyberLympics, the world’s first global hacking competition. EC-Council Foundation also hosts a suite of conferences across the US and around the world including Hacker Halted, Global CISO Forum, TakeDownCon, and CISO Summit. For more information about EC-Council, please visit


Share this Article
You may also like
Recent Articles

Train with EC-Council