Cyber Security Professional of the Year

2015 – Jay Bavisi has been recognized by CyberSecurity Malaysia for his contribution to protect cyberspace and advance the cyber security profession.

The Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, Malaysia (MOSTI) and CyberSecurity Malaysia today named Jay Bavisi, President and CEO of EC-Council, as the Cyber Security Professional of the Year, 2015.

Jay is the Chairman of the Board, EC-Council University, and CEO of EC-Council Group, the world’s leading information-security certification body since the launch of their flagship program, Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH), which created the ethical hacking industry in 2002. Formed following the 9/11 incident, EC-Council addresses issues of cyber terrorism raised at the forefront of security of nations at large. It is the owner and developer of the world famous Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH), Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI), Secure Analyst (ECSA), and Licensed Penetration Tester (LPT) programs.

He has been credited as the Chairman of the EC-Council Foundation, a not for profit charity dedicated to raise awareness of information security, build capacity and promote world peace. He has contributed in projects to help those less fortunate gain technical knowledge, help wounded warriors become cyber experts and help kids become aware of cyber risks. Additionally, Global Cyberlympics, the world games hosting over 1,000 information security players from over 100 companies globally and from over 80 countries was the brainchild of Bavisi.

CyberSecurity Malaysia is the national cyber security specialist and technical center under the purview of MOSTI, with a passion to provide excellent services to ensure a safer cyberspace for everyone. It began as the Malaysian Computer Emergency Response Team (MyCERT) in 1997. In 1998, it grew to become the National ICT Security & Emergency Response Centre (NISER). In 2007, NISER was transformed and renamed Cyber Security Malaysia.

The purpose of the award is to honor and recognize individuals who have not only contributed to strengthening Malaysia’s cyber defense and security but also played a pivotal role in addressing the challenges in global information security space and contributing to cyber maturity. The awards are conferred in recognition of their innovativeness, commitment, industry/product/service leadership, and business strategies.

The Malaysia Cyber Security Awards are intended not only to recognize the efforts of information security professionals, but also to encourage innovation and spark strategic alliances within the local security and ICT industry; thus, emphasizing the importance and growth of information security in Malaysia’s vibrant ICT landscape.

On behalf of CyberSecurity Malaysia, I would like to congratulate Jay Bavisi, the President and CEO of EC-Council for being conferred with the Cyber Security Professional of the Year 2015 award. The award is given to Jay for his endless efforts, strong commitment as well as exceptional industry leadership to the cyber security agenda in Malaysia. His contribution will help to accelerate the country towards achieving the goals of becoming a digital nation.

– Dr. Amirudin Abdul Wahab, Chief Executive Officer of CyberSecurity Malaysia.

Share this Article
You may also like
Recent Articles

Train with EC-Council