What is DoD Directive 8570?

With the United States Department of Defense (DoD) signing off the DoD Directive 8140 in 2015, the previously applicable DoD Directive 8570 has been replaced. DoD 8570 functions are now serving a bigger purpose under the guidelines of DoD 8140 until the existing manual is updated. The directive sets out the requirements for the “Information Assurance” workforce covering policies and responsibilities regarding the training, certification, and workforce management. For an entry-level job position in the Department of Defense, DoD 8570 compliance is a must. All DoD IA jobs are classified as Technical (IAT), Management (IAM), System Architect and Engineer (IASAE), and Cyber Security Service Provider (CSSP). These position categories are then further divided into individual levels. EC-Council certifications are required to join the Department of Defense at a Management or CSSP level
Information Assurance Technical (IAT) Information Assurance Management (IAM) Information Assurance System Architect and Engineer (IASAE) Cyber Security Service Provider (CSSP)
IAT Level I IAT Level I IASAE Level I CSSP Analyst
IAT Level II IAT Level II IASAE Level II CSSP Infrastructure Support
IAT Level III IAM Level III IAM Level III CSSP Incident Responder
CSSP Auditor
CSSP Manager

Meeting the minimum qualification requirements of DoD 8140/8570 opens the doors to the DoD and other federal agencies. New DoD 8570 Requirements

Who Does DoD 8570 Affect? DoD 8570 affects all full-time, part-time, contract-based employees from the military services having legitimate access to a DoD information system performing IA functions. This impact applies to all DoD staff regardless of their job profile.

Most common job roles fall under the DoD IAM Level II (for mid-level job posts) – Cyberspace Analyst, Malware Analyst, and Security Specialist are a few of them. EC-Council Certifications Aligning with DoD Directive 8570

Management (IAM) EC-Council Certification and Management Level DoD Job Postings
IAM Level II Certified Chief Information Security Officer (C|CISO)
IAM Level III Certified Chief Information Security Officer (C|CISO)
Cyber Security Service Provider (CSSP) EC-Council Certification and Associated DoD Job Postings
CSSP Analyst Certified Ethical Hacker (C|EH)
CSSP Infrastructure Support Certified Ethical Hacker (C|EH)
  Certified Hacking Forensic Investigator (C|HFI)
CSSP Incident Responder Certified Ethical Hacker (C|EH)
  Certified Hacking Forensic Investigator (C|HFI)
CSSP Auditor Certified Ethical Hacker (C|EH)
CSSP Manager Certified Chief Information Security Officer (C|CISO)

For More Details on DoDD 8570, click here

Frequently Asked Questions

For entry-level jobs with limited IT positions, especially in the case where recruiter won’t be aware of your achievements, listing DoD 8570 compliance is a great idea.

If you are looking to join any military service where you will have privileged access to DoD data, then you need to possess a DoD 8750/ 8140 baseline credential. Even if you don’t belong to this category, DoD 8570 helps you stand out from the crowd.

You do not need to go through the training, but still, DoD job postings demand proof stating that you took the exam.

  • EC-Council offers specialized certifications which focus on different domains of cybersecurity
  • Mapped to several significant frameworks, including NICE/NIST Framework, NIST 800-171, CREST Framework, and more.
  • EC-Council has achieved accreditation for many of its programs to meet the ANSI/ISO/IEC 17024 Personnel Certification Accreditation standard.
  • Many of their programs are recognized as GCHQ Certified Training.
  • Encourages and validates practically applicable technical skills
  • Ensures that the participants obtain the required hands-on experience